Hello from Months Later

3 Sep

So I’m down 10 more pounds to 160!! That being said, it’s kind of funny looking back at my last post. I sounded so… defeated. It did take awhile, but it happened. And that’s something to keep in mind, being that I’m stuck in another loss rut. So here’s a quick update:

I did NOT give up McDonald’s nonfat mochas. Because I’m also trying to save money, I like to think I’ve cut back, but some weeks that’s not truthfully the case. I just learned how to work them into my diet if I wake up and feel like I really need one. I have also not given up on chocolate or Nutella, the latter of which may be part of the reason I am stuck. That and peanut butter, are the only things I’ve really truly had trouble cutting back on. There are just so many points in such a small serving! I eat out WAYYYYYY less than I used to, and sometimes I miss it; sometimes I don’t.

I’ve been stuck at 160-162 for a month+, and it was starting to get frustrating, so I did two things recently to change it up – I added exercise, and more water consumption. Sure, I could give up even more foods that probably aren’t that good for me, but if I don’t intend to give up on them for life, I’m going to just gain the weight back when I do add them back in. Therefore I’m trying to work with what I’ve got. Since the change 2 weeks ago, I’ve fallen fairly steadily. This week I’ve been in the high 150s all week – we’ll see how that factors in on the scale in the morning.

I’m ending week 3 of training for the Go! St. Louis Halloween 10K with a 3.5 mile walk/run today. It’s kind of intimidating, but it’s been going well so far. I did 5 miles in March when I was approx. 15 pounds heavier, so I know I can do this. I’ve got Marissa and Lori signed up for sure to run with me, and I’m gathering even more!! I even started a Facebook group where all of us runners can support one another.

This time, I’m not going to beat myself up and tell myself there’s more I could be doing. I’m also not going to get frustrated to the point that I give up. I’m going to continue my training and my diet and I’m going to enjoy my so-far success along the way.

Today I cleaned out my closet a little and tried on some old dresses, including the one I wore to semi-formal my junior year. It’s not where I want to be but compared to where I have been these last couple of years I thought I looked great, so I wanted to share.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

I’ve still got 13-15 pounds to go before 145, and my big race, so I’ll let you know how that goes – but I’ve come a long way so far. Wish me luck!!

Leave a comment